South Coast Surfin’

Well HELLO. I do apologise for the lack of consistency in my posting lately.

I have been a very busy little bee.

If you follow my Instagram (which you do, right?) (@surfandfitnessjourney) you’ll know that I haven’t disappeared but I have been travelling!

I spent some time on the New South Wales South Coast and got quite a bit of surfing in.

P1200285

I surfed at Merimbula Bar, Merimbula Main Beach and Tathra Beach. I did take my board to Pambula Rivermouth but it was shallow and barrelling like Indo so I respectfully sat on the beach and just watched the waves peel and spit. What amazed me most about the surfing in South Coast NSW is that there are IMPECCABLE waves…and no one out. The most people I had to share the waves with was about four people on a Saturday morning.

When I came home, I was inspired to better my surfing. I hadn’t been out that much before travelling north and getting my hair wet really inspired me to keep training – because I’m still a hopeless case! I rocked up to my local at noon on a Wednesday. The car park was full. The line-up was carnage. We had beautiful offshore crystal conditions but it was the middle of a working day! It was astounding that so many people surf in New South Wales but the breaks are blissfully uncrowded.

P1200302

Unfortunately, despite the water being a toasty 16 degrees and having less wind than down in Victoria, I was still plagued with a sore ear. I dropped into a surf shop to pick up some ear plugs but the shopkeep (small world = he was originally from my local) told me if I have surfer’s ear, there is nothing I can do but get the surgery. I’m not that hardcore. But I also don’t want to have to stay out of the water in winter just because of an ear ache!

I got some ear plugs when I got back home so I’ll try them coupled with my hoodie and I’ll see how I go.

Sorry for the splurge but I have a lot to update!

Stay posted x

Leave a Reply

