No butts!

A friend of mine (well, actually a few friends) marvelled at my body confidence when I showed them some photos I had taken on the beach. I was wearing a Brazilian-cut bikini and I was proud of the way my booty looked. I’ve limped for weeks on end and had to massage my butt cheeks when nobody was looking from all the butt workouts I’ve done in the past. My butt was once a fat, flat pancake “Hank butt” (click here to understand this reference to King of the Hill). One of my motivators to get fit and healthy was to get a surfer’s body; ever noticed that surfers all have amazing butts? It has taken some work, believe me.

So I was proud of my work in progress. My friends however didn’t say “nice work” or “great progress”. They just applauded my confidence and “balls” to show off my butt. Well, it got me thinking. Either my butt needs more work or my confidence is really admirable. I’m leaning more towards the needing-more-work idea but what is so wrong about having some confidence in a bikini I would’ve had a heart attack about wearing before I became healthy and fit? I see a lot of women being shamed online for wearing swimsuits that aren’t “flattering”. If it gives them confidence, what business is it of other people? Really.

I’ll take my chunky butt, thank you, with a huge helping of body confidence that I’ve been lacking. Wear whatever you like. Just wear it with a smile and the knowledge that you can rock it!

I'll take joy, laughter and body confidence over fat shaming, self-hate and self-doubt any day!

I’ll take joy, laughter and body confidence over fat shaming, self-hate and self-doubt any day!

Leave a Reply

