I’m ready

I was standing in the shower the other day, washing my hair after a surf.

I’m ready.

Those words came to the front of my mind. I am suddenly ready to try for bigger waves. It’s suddenly dawning on me that I can surf. I’ve ridden green waves successfully now and survived the impact zone of bigger surf. Pushing myself to paddle out the back of each surf session has really paid off for my confidence.

My last surf, I sat out the back and thought cheekily, ‘I’m going to snake those waves from those beginners…because…well, I can’ (not a serious snake; just take off further back so we were sharing waves). I watched two guys floundering in the white-water like I used to, and I took off on a green wave and scooped a bottom turn around them. I can do this.

Confidence has snuck up on me and tapped me on the shoulder. I don’t know when it happened and why it took so long but I can now actually call myself a surfer without feeling the need to say I am a kook.

So that is the result of mentally pushing myself every surf for a week. Well, there you go. It is mind over matter after all. I feel I am ready to tackle bigger waves without feeling paralysed by fear and doubt. Bigger waves, here I come!

I'm ready for the bigger surf now

I’m ready for the bigger surf now

7 thoughts on “I’m ready

  1. I enjoy your post – “The world is a place of constant change. If we are open and ready to consider everything while remaining unbiased, we will be ready to accept these changes and utilize them to improve our lives.”

  2. Uh oh! You are starting to hassle the rookies! Ha ha!

    Seriously though and this is from your shot off the GoPro… Your stance is looking solid and I can see you are rotating your shoulders. So that is great! Just keep progressing and surf with a plan and some goals.

    Some people just go out and surf. If you see them today and ten years from now…they will be the same. Never progressing. I know some people just want to paddle out after work and wash their cares away and they do not care to get better. I was never like this and I will never be! I can watch the dolphins while I am working on things.

    • I even said to my surf coach a couple of weeks ago, ‘I’ll book another lesson as soon as I get enough money.’ He shrugged and said, ‘You don’t really need lessons. You can do it. Just call me if you run into any issues – I won’t charge you for advice.’ It’s still part of training. There’s always something to improve and something to work towards. I’ve been riding horses since I was a kid but I still like to have weekly lessons. One can always be better :).

  3. Hello! I loved this post. I’ve been learning how to surf, and I absolutely cherish those moments of confidence that come with hard work and lots of inner conversations. Can I link to this post on my blog? I’m trying to develop a community of women who are learning how to surf, but live far from the beach. It’s about enjoying the surf life at home and on vacation…and I love your journey! I’m looking for empowering and inspiring women to connect with.

Leave a Reply

