Enjoy Bass Strait…

I arrived at my local break and chatted to a local.

‘You had a look at the beach yet?’ he asked.

‘Nope.’ I pulled on my wetsuit anyway. ‘It’ll be ‘right.’

He gave me the ‘you-are-such-a-kook’ facial expression and left me to my devices. It was howling onshore. It was a struggle to get my board down to the beach – the wind kept wanting to blast it into space. The sand whipped up and scratched my face. I slapped the board down on the water and paddled out. A few reforming white-water waves were all that were on offer but they were waves. I worked on my bottom turns, focusing on keeping my leading arm in the right position. I did an awesome turn. It felt smooth, like I was ice-skating. I retreated from the water to head home. Wrapping my leg rope up, I did a double-take.

MY FIN?!

brokenfin

It was completely snapped off! I have no idea how it happened or even when it happened. Would it have been possible to have such a smooth turn with only one side fin? I took it up to Island and sulked that I needed a new set of fins. They kindly gave me a single fin and even screwed it in for me (after wedging out the remains of my snapped fin). So my board is good for action again.

A couple of you may remember that I damaged the fin housing on my board earlier in the year (having a kook encounter with a rock at midtide; I know my surfing is tonnes better now because I surf over or around that rock now). It’s not even the same fin! So the housing isn’t weakened at all. All I can say is bye-bye side fin…enjoy Bass Strait…

Surf howling onshore? Check. (Means you are literally the only surfer out!) Just proves that I’m truly, madly, deeply…in love with surfing.

One thought on “Enjoy Bass Strait…

Leave a Reply

