Morning routine

The birds chirp and I open my eyes. A new day. There is frost on the grass, and the glass of my window. Tip-toe out of bed and make coffee. Shiver as I dress in a bikini and baggy clothes. I gulp down the coffee, grab a banana and wrap my fingers around the rails of my board.

My heart flutters. I breathe in the scent of neoprene as I toss my wetsuit over my board and carry it to the car. It’s first light and the sky looks like pink and purple fairy floss. I start the car and press play on my iPod. Off I go, back home to where the water meets the land and I am free.

Leave a Reply

