We made plans to kiss the sun at night

Plans.

I love to make them. I love to keep them even more so.

I’ve got my semester laid out in daily plans already. Unfortunately, if I’m going to get good grades – and I am – I have to sacrifice some surfing time. I usually get to surf four times a week, five if I am lucky. Now my surfing is going to be severely restricted to once or twice a week – maybe three if I can hightail it through some assignments.

I’m already dreading the backwardness my journey is going to take. I’ve already got the study “headache” (a headache stemming from a bad neck and thrives on tension) and my eyeballs already sting, not from salt but from the liquid heartache of sacrificing my surf time. Okay, I’m being figurative. I am not actually crying…yet.

My questions are:

1. Can you improve as a surfer if you can’t surf consistently?

2. Is all my progress going to dissipate?

3. Am I going to be so depressed that I lose all focus on having a future?

4. How am I going to stay fit if I can’t surf?

I’d love to hear some suggestions. It takes me fifty minutes to get to the nearest (shitty) surf spot and over an hour to get to my “local” spot. Squeezing a surf in midweek is next to impossible when I have to travel an hour and a half/two hours in the opposite direction to go to university. Wait…is it actually wise to surf in the dark? If no, then my surfing time is reduced further…Waaah.

3 thoughts on “We made plans to kiss the sun at night

  1. Do not feel bad. My current situation is dreadful. To say the least.

    As far as the anti-surfing is concerned. Do the normal exercises for surfing… one legged airplanes. Split squats with rotation, wood chops, etc.

    Most people get in the water with no idea what they are doing. So they are paddling around trying to catch waves and once they are up, they are just riding. How can you improve doing that? Have some goals and things planned out to work on. Make the most of your time.

    Good luck with school!

  2. Do not feel bad. My current situation is dreadful. To say the least.

    As far as the anti-surfing is concerned. Do the normal exercises for surfing… one legged airplanes. Split squats with rotation, wood chops, etc.

    Most people get in the water with no idea what they are doing. So they are paddling around trying to catch waves and once they are up, they are just riding. How can you improve doing that? Have some goals and things planned out to work on. Make the most of your time.

    Good luck with school!

Leave a Reply

